Update: City Council Races Closed

The races for City Council are closed for the May 3 Hyattsville biennial elections.

Update, March 27: Now that the deadline to register to run for City Council has passed, the races are in place. Here's the rundown:


Christopher Michael Brophy
LaVonne Leslie
Marc Tartaro

Ward 1:

Douglas S. Dudrow (incumbent)
Candace B. Hollingsworth
William Jenne
Scott D. Matirne

Ward 2:

William F. Tierney II (incumbent)
Shani Warner
Connor Wilkinson

Ward 3:

Timothy Hunt (incumbent)

Ward 4:

Paula Perry (incumbent)

Ward 5:

Nicole Hinds-Mofor (incumbent)


Update, March 24: Longtime Hyattsville resident and current City Councilman Douglas Dudrow (Ward 1) is officially running for re-election this May.

Update, March 23: Rhode Island Reds restaurateur Christopher Michael Brophy has registered as a candidate for mayor of Hyattsville. Brophy will face Dr. Lavonne Leslie and City Councilman Marc Tartaro (Ward 1) in the race.

Update, March 17: Incumbent William F. Tierney II (Ward 2) has registered for re-election in Ward 2. He will run against new comer Shani Warner. Tierney is current council vice president.

Update, March 15: Dr. LaVonne Leslie has registered to run for mayor of Hyattsville. Leslie will face challenger Marc Tartaro, current City Council President from Ward 1.

In Ward 4, incumbent Paula Perry has registered to run for re-election and in Ward 5, incumbent Nicole Hinds has also registered for re-election.

Update, March 12: William Jenne has registered to run for the upcoming citywide elections as a candidate for Ward 1.

Update, March 2: Councilman Marc Tartaro (Ward 1) has officially registered as a candidate for mayor according to the city's website.

Update, March 2: Another resident has thrown her hat into the ring for this year's city council elections. Shani Warner, who has long-supported the building of a community garden at Hyatt Park, has registered as a candidate for Ward 2.

Update, March 1: According to the City of Hyattsville website, three candidates have signed up to run in this year's elections.

In Ward 1, Candace B. Hollingsworth and Scott D. Matirne have registered. In Ward 3, current Councilman Tim Hunt has signed up to run for re-election.

To follow the registrations, check back on the city's website every 24 hours.


Today is the beginning of candidate registration for the 2011 biennial and mayor elections.

Signs can also be set up starting today.

Seats up for grabs are:

  • Ward 1: Douglas Dudrow;
  • Ward 2: William Tierney;
  • Ward 3: Timothy Hunt;
  • Ward 4: Paula Perry; and
  • Ward 5: Nicole Hinds Mofor.

Councilman Marc Tartaro (Ward 1) has declared his candidacy for mayor this year. While no other declarations have officially been made, Connor Wilkinson has a Facebook page set up for his candidacyfor Tierney's spot.

The deadline for filing candidacy this year is March 25 and the elections are scheduled for May 3.

For more information on filing for candidacy visit the city's website or contact City Clerk Douglass Barber at 301-985-5009.

Scott Matirne March 01, 2011 at 11:18 AM
Scott Matirne is now a candidate for the Hyattsville City Council seat for Ward 1.
Sarah Nemeth March 01, 2011 at 05:53 PM
Hi Scott! Thanks for writing. If you're interested, feel free to shoot me an email at sarahn@patch.com and let me know more about your platform and background. Sarah


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »