PRIMARY GUIDE: Hyattsville Residents to Vote in 3 Congressional Races

Hyattsville residents are split between three congressional districts. See which one you're in with this interactive map.

For a Hyattville resident it may be confusing to determine who is their congressional representative. Hyattsville voters are actually split between three congressional districts

The good folks down at Govtrack.us have a very handy map, which you can use to figure out in which district you live. 

Generally speaking, if you live in Hyattsville west of Baltimore Avenue, north of Hamilton Street and east of Queens Chapel Road, you are in Maryland's 5th Congressional District, currently represented by Democratic Rep. Steny Hoyer. 

Rep. Steny Hoyer's will race to defend his seat this year. He will be challenged in Tuesday's primary by one Democrat: Cathy Johnson Pendleton.

The Republican primary ballot includes three candidates: David Hill, Glenn Morton and Tony O'Donnell.

Find the list of Maryland's 5th Congressional District primary candidates here.

If you live in West Hyattsville south of Hamilton Street and north of the Northwest Branch of the Anacostia River, congratulations: you live in an oddly drawn strip of Maryland's 4th Congressional District, which is represented by Democratic Rep. Donna Edwards. 

Her district stretches from Fort Washington north through Hyattsville, Lewisdale and Adelphi, where it snakes into Montgomery County, extending up to Clarksburg and the Patuxent River State Park.

Edwards is facing two Democratic challengers in Tuesday's primary: Prince George's County residents Ian Garner and George McDermott.

Four Republicans are seeking the 4th Congressional District seat: Anne Arundel County residents Randy Gearhart and Faith Loudon, Prince Georgian Greg Holmes, and Montgomery County resident Charles Shepherd. 

Find the complete list of Maryland's 4th Congressional District primary candidates here.

A very small, but heavily Hispanic sliver of Hyattsville, west of Ager Road, is located in Maryland's 8th Congressional District, represented by Democrat Chris Van Hollen. 

The district stretches from Colmar Manor, just south of us in Hyattsville, to Montgomery County's border with Frederick County, including Rockville, Bethesda and Gaithersburg. The Hyattsville portion of the 8th Congressional District, bound by Nicholson Street and Ager Road has the highest concentration of Hispanic residents in the city, according to Census data.  

This year, Rep. Van Hollen is facing off against one Democratic primary challenger: Montgomery County Democrat George English. 

Four Republicans are running for the 8th as well: Montgomery county residents Gus Alzona, Shelly Skolnick, Ken Timmerman and Carroll County resident Dave Wallace. 

There is also one Green Party politician running for Van Hollen's seat, Montgomery County resident George Gluck. He has already won his party's nomination, and will not appear on a ballot until the general election. 

The list of Maryland's 8th Congressional District primary candidates here.

College Park Patch Local Editor Shannon Hoffman contributed to this report. 

Shani April 03, 2012 at 02:56 PM
I've been looking for a good map of the district boundaries. This is incredibly helpful. Thanks!


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »